The Summer Children

The Summer Children (The Collector #3) by Dot Hutchinson

Thank you to Amazon Publishing for my free review copy.

Goodreads Synopsis: When Agent Mercedes Ramirez finds an abused young boy on her porch, covered in blood and clutching a teddy bear, she has no idea that this is just the beginning. He tells her a chilling tale: an angel killed his parents and then brought him here so Mercedes could keep him safe.

His parents weren’t just murdered. It was a slaughter—a rage kill like no one on the Crimes Against Children team had seen before. But they’re going to see it again. An avenging angel is meting out savage justice, and she’s far from through.

One by one, more children arrive at Mercedes’s door with the same horror story. Each one a traumatized survivor of an abusive home. Each one chafing at Mercedes’s own scars from the past. And each one taking its toll on her life and career.

Now, as the investigation draws her deeper into the dark, Mercedes is beginning to fear that if this case doesn’t destroy her, her memories might.

Review: I devoured The Butterfly Garden back in 2016 and each following installment became a highly anticipated release. I was so thrilled to find that The Collector trilogy ended on a dark note similar to the way it began. While I enjoyed the second book, it was much more of a look into the agents’ lives than a edge-of-your-seat thriller. It was a let down for some, but I believe it proved to be important for the character development in this final book. This series is the perfect read for fans of Law and Order SVU and Criminal Minds. Not only does it follow the case of a vigilante serial killer, but you also fall in love with the agents hunting the masked “angel.” It’s dark, disturbing and sometimes graphic; a satisfying end to an enthralling series.

Genre: Thriller

Publisher: Thomas & Mercer

Publication Date: May 22, 2018

Overall Rating: 4.5/5

Purchase The Summer Children on Amazon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: